He Is Risen


Of course, yesterday, Easter Sunday, being a) a day I try to sty off the Internet, and b) a FEAST day, I am late.

Or am I?

The Octave lasts until next Sunday, and the Season is 50 days.  So.. maybe not.

Having just gone through Lent, with the Stations of the Cross prominent, I found something neat for the Easter Season.

Lent is Good, and it is 40 days.  Easter is Better, and it is 50 days.  (Think about it!)

So, for a devotional to help with the season, here is …

Stations of the Resurrection (Via Lucis)

1. Jesus Rises From the Dead (Matthew 28:1-10)

2. The Finding of the Empty Tomb (John 20:1-10)

3. The Risen Lord Appears to Mary Magdalene (John 20:11-18)

4. Jesus Appears on the Road to Emmaus (Luke 24:13-27)

5. Jesus is Known at the Breaking of Bread (Luke 24:28-35)

6. Jesus Appears to His Disciples in Jerusalem (Luke 24:36-43)

7. Jesus Gives the Disciples the Power to Forgive Sins (John 20:19-23)

8. Jesus Strengthens the Faith of Thomas (John 20:24-29)

9. Jesus Appears by the Sea of Tiberias (John 21:1-14)

10. Jesus Tell Peter to Feed His Sheep (Primacy of Peter) (John 21:15-17, 19b)

11. Jesus Commissions the Disciples on the Mountain (Matthew 28:16-20)

12. Jesus Ascends into Heaven (Acts 1:6-12a)

13. Mary and the Disciples Wait in Prayer (Acts 1:12-14)

14. The Holy Spirit Descends at Pentecost (Acts 2:1-13)

For more information on the Via Lucis, read this except from the Directory of Popular Piety and the Liturgy published by the Congregation for Doctrine and Worship in 2001:

153: A pious exercise called the Via Lucis has developed and spread to many regions in recent years. Following the model of the Via Crucis, the faithful process while meditating on the various appearances of Jesus – from his Resurrection to his Ascension – in which he showed his glory to the disciples who awaited the coming of the Holy Spirit (cf. John 14, 26; 16, 13-15; Lk 24, 49), strengthened their faith, brought to completion his teaching on the Kingdom and more closely defined the sacramental and hierarchical structure of the Church.

Through the Via Lucis, the faithful recall the central event of the faith – the resurrection of Christ – and their discipleship in virtue of Baptism, the paschal sacrament by which they have passed from the darkness of sin to the bright radiance of the light of grace (cf. Col 1, 13; Eph 5, 8).

For centuries the Via Crucis involved the faithful in the first moment of the Easter event, namely the Passion, and helped to fix its most important aspects in their consciousness. Analogously, the Via Lucis, when celebrated in fidelity to the Gospel text, can effectively convey a living understanding to the faithful of the second moment of the Paschal event, namely the Lord’s Resurrection.

The Via Lucis is potentially an excellent pedagogy of the faith, since “per crucem ad lucem” [through the Cross (one comes) to the light]. Using the metaphor of a journey, the Via Lucis moves from the experience of suffering, which in God’s plan is part of life, to the hope of arriving at man’s true end: liberation, joy and peace which are essentially paschal values.

The Via Lucis is a potential stimulus for the restoration of a “culture of life” which is open to the hope and certitude offered by faith, in a society often characterized by a “culture of death”, despair and nihilism.

Some resources to help out are here, here, and here.

There is also this link, but it may or may not work.





This entry was posted in Catholicism, Easter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s